The Sunny Side of the Street

My Granny died the other week.

She had been battling Alzheimer’s for quite some time and things had taken a turn.  The common thought was, “Granny is now at peace.”

Years ago, I was 17/18 or somewhere in there, my grandfather and I were talking about music and the songs of our generations.  Granny & Grandad were of the Louie Prima, Tommy Dorsey, Glen Miller generation (the original kings of swing).  He then turned to one of he and Granny’s favorite songs, On the Sunny Side of the Street.  He spoke of how he felt it was a perfect song for a funeral because of the lyrics metaphorical content.  And it really works, especially the last two lines:
Grab your coat and get your hat
Leave your worries on the doorstep
Life can be so sweet
On the sunny side of the street

Can’t you hear the pitter-patter?
And that happy tune is your step
Life can be so sweet
On the Sunny Side of the Street

I used to walk in the shade with the blues on parade
But I’m not afraid
I’m crossing over and I’m walking in clovers

If I never had a cent
I’d be rich as Rockefeller
with Gold dust at my feet
On the Sunny Side of the Street

For Granny’s memorial service Grandad wanted the music to be happy, a celebration of Granny’s life, rather than mourning our loss.

I was rather nervous, especially playing in Nashville, TN, but when the time came I just put fingers to keys and played.  Oblivious to all that was outside of me, in that place I could feel Granny’s presence and see her sweetly smiling as she would, and gently clapping along.

Granny is at peace now.

And I rejoice in the very good news that there will come a day when we will all join together in singing praise to the one who gives life eternal.

 

Here’s a recording of the Tommy Dorsey Band doing On the Sunny Side of the Street:

Leave a Reply

